Finally, a breakthrough!

Adobe CS3Almost a month ago, I first attempted to install Adobe Creative Suite 3. Today – after five promised-and-not-delivered return calls from Adobe’s tech support team – I managed to get CS3 to install correctly. Over that month, I suffered through 12 failed installations with the “component install failed” error. Each installation took an hour to complete before the problems appeared.

What was the problem? Google Desktop conflicts with the Adobe installer. The Adobe tech who finally called me back just happened to mention it offhand. As soon as I uninstalled Google Desktop, the installation went through without a problem.

Sadly, the installation doesn’t show much fanfare when it’s finally successful. After so much wasted time, I was hoping for some sort of flashy fireworks, but all I got was “The installation completed successfully.” Needless to say, I was just a tad disappointed.

5 Responses to “Finally, a breakthrough!”

  1. creationnation Says:

    I’m on about my 13th try.

    Did they say Google Desktop in and of itself has to be uninstalled, or just not running? I was starting up in selective startup mode so that nothing was running. I can’t see how having GD installed would cause CS3 to fail?

  2. Chris Says:

    It was definitely a full uninstall. I’m not sure how it affected it either, but selective startups didn’t work for me. Luckily when you uninstall Desktop you can leave the index so it doesn’t have to start all over again when you reinstall.

  3. creationnation Says:

    THANK YOU!

    After 14 install attempts, 3 days and over 8 tech calls, removing Google Desktop solved my problem (and I was able to leave the index intact as well).

    SERENITY NOW! 🙂

  4. Chris Says:

    Great! Glad to hear it worked out for you!


Leave a Reply

