Favorite Childhood Recipe: BBQ Chicken

A Grill at Adams Morgan Day (by ohad*)Tonight I decided to try one of my favorite meals from when I was younger. I always begged my late grandfather to fix his BBQ chicken whenever we went to visit them in Tennessee. It was a recipe he used when grilling for the 4H Club at the Midsouth Fair in Memphis. It’s easy to scale up so you can make a lot of chicken at once, but I scaled it down tonight and it worked perfectly for three chicken breasts.

Here’s the recipe:

  • 1 cup white vinegar
  • 2 tbsp. salt
  • 1/2 cup oil
  • 4 tsp. Tabasco sauce
  • 5 tsp. Worchestershire sauce
  • 1/4 tsp. garlic powder

Mix all the ingredients in a plastic spray bottle (I use the cheap ones from the pharmacy department). Spray the chicken liberally while it is grilling, flipping and re-spraying often.

The chicken comes out moist and has lots of flavor, but it’s not too spicy.

What’s your favorite childhood recipe? Tell us about it in the comments.

Photo by Ohad*. I meant to take my own, but it smelled so good I couldn’t wait to eat it!

Leave a Reply

