And the rocket’s red glare

Last night I went out and shot the fireworks for Cincinnati’s All American Birthday Party. I scouted out the location a few hours in advance and picked the perfect spot to shoot from, but it was all for naught because they shot the fireworks from a different spot than usual. I had to think on my feet and make a quick move because the fireworks ended up directly behind the bridge support.

I was surprised at how few people were there last night. I’m used to the atmosphere from the WEBN Labor Day fireworks, where there’s not a single unoccupied stretch of land or water for miles up and down the river. Last night I saw probably 15 or 20 people on the Covington side of the river, and the Sawyer Point area didn’t look too much busier. Too bad, because they missed a great show!

I also took a few shots to create a sunset panorama (or two), but it’ll take me a few days to process those shots. I’ll post them once they’re done.

Photo by ChrisIrmo

Leave a Reply

